Program Types: Anti-Violence Initiatives (AVI), Sport and Recreation,

Free workshop. Anyone 18+ may join. This class can be done by any fitness level, but it is a physical class. Facilitated by martial artist and self-defense instructor Chris James.

Register here!

You can take breaks when needed and jump back in at any time.

We endeavour to create a safe space and be respectful at all times, but please be forewarned that we do talk about real-life scenarios that may be triggering to some.

Please only sign up if you are available for the full session (4 hours). If you sign up and are unable to come, please let us know at: wfreesd@gmail.com.

2024 workshop dates:

  • Session 1 – Sunday, February 18 – Special session for parents/caregivers and their kids (ages 14+)
  • Session 2 – Sunday, March 24 – Special session for BIPOC community members
  • Session 3 – Sunday, April 21 – Special session for deaf and hard-of-hearing community members. We will have an ASL interpretation at the workshop.
  • Session 4 – Sunday, May 19
  • Session 5 – Sunday, June 23
  • Session 6 – Sunday, July 21
  • Session 7 – Sunday, August 18
  • Session 8 – Sunday, September 15
  • Session 9 – Sunday, October 20 – Special session for sex workers.
  • Session 10 – Sunday, November 17 – Special session for 2 Spirit, trans, and non-binary community members.

Happening at The 519 [519 Church St.] from 12 to 4pm.

About the facilitator: Chris James has been emersed in martial arts and volunteering for the last 10+ years, and merged these two passions together 5+ years ago when he started his charity initiative to share his knowledge of self-defense to his community. Along with his incredible volunteers, he has taught self-defense all over the GTA as well as internationally. Chris is thrilled to be partnering with The 519 to expand this initiative and help keep his community safe and secure.

Follow Chris on Facebook.

Register for this program