

Annual General Meeting of the Members Wednesday, September 30, 2009 Minutes

6:00 p.m. Dinner for members, friends and guests

Catered by Trish and Kiki, volunteer cooks at The 519 and employees of The Butchers in Thornhill.

Featuring: Vegetarian, Vegan and Meat choices

7:00 p.m. Annual General Meeting of the Members

1. The meeting was opened at 7:00 by Mathieu Chantelois, Chair of the Board of Directors. Thirty-five voting members were in attendance, along with approximately sixty-five associate members and friends. Mathieu welcomed everyone to the meeting.

2. Adoption of the agenda

Adoption of the agenda was moved by Dick Moore and seconded by Lyle Kersey. Carried.

3. Adoption of the minutes

Adoption of the minutes of the Sept 24, 2008 Annual General Meeting was moved by Dick Moore and seconded by Don Middleton. Carried.

4. Finance and Auditor's Reports

Mary Lucey, Treasurer, presented the finance and auditor's report for 2008. Acceptance of the auditor's report was moved by Lyle Kersey and seconded by Clayton Wilson. Carried.

5. Report of the Chair

Mathieu Chantelois spoke about important developments, including the hiring of the current Executive Director at the very end of 2007. Maura Lawless has initiated numerous improvements.

Starry Night – This Friday Night of Pride Week event was a new initiative in 2008 and was an even bigger success in 2009. The evening features celebrity bar tenders and live music. Donors, along with the entire community, are invited.

Mathieu recognized The 519's Honorary Patron, Salah Bachir, for his highly successful leadership of the Capital Campaign and for his generous support of The 519's Expansion Project.

Also recognized for their outstanding contributions on the Board:

Joan Anderson Don Middleton and Marv Lucey, who are leaving after many years of service, and Derrick Navarro and Natasha Garda who have been on the executive in the past year.

6. Report of the Executive Director

Maura Lawless thanked Mathieu and highlighted some achievements of the past year. The Board proactively recruited diverse and talented candidates for the Board and there are sixteen people running tonight. This is the largest number and greatest diversity of candidates for the Board in The 519's history.

Our Pride program events list has something for everyone – not only Starry Night but also program led events such as the Queer Family Fun Fair and Trans Theatre Under the Stars. The 519 is a very visible part of the Pride Celebrations. Our fundraising during Pride 2009 was very successful.

Maura thanked Councillor Kyle Rae, Cineplex, Salah Bachir, BMO, the United Way and the Counselling Foundation.

In 2010 we are looking forward to opening the expanded building and opening the new café.

Motion: Acceptance of the Chair's and Executive Director's Report was moved by Jake Schonfeld and seconded by Sid Sengupta. Carried.

7. Election of the Board of Directors

Mathieu introduced current board members who are remaining on the Board:

Jessica Carfagnini Lyle Kersey Derrick Navarro Jake Schonfeld

There are seven positions available and sixteen names on the ballot. Each candidate (listed alphabetically in these minutes and on the ballot) was invited to speak for two minutes. A draw was held to decide the speaking order.

Pascal Dessureault
Susan Doyle
Natasha Garda (incumbent)
Jodi Hoar
Troy Jackson
Ashley Koster
Enrico Mandarino
Patrick Marano
Jay Marcelle
Victoria Moreno
Kabir Ravindra (incumbent)
Lee Mark Schofield

Sid Sengupta Robyn Switzer Rudy Ticzon Kira Vallen

8. **Program Highlights – Janet Rowe**

Janet Rowe, the Program Manager, along with Program Supervisors Julia Gonsalves (children and youth) and Gareth Henry (adults and seniors) discussed program activities and developments over the past year.

9. Recognition of Board Members

Honorary Patron Salah Bachir spoke highly of outgoing Chair Mathieu Chantelois and his commitment over many years to the work of The 519 during the Expansion Project. Mathieu Chantelois thanked Vice-chair Natasha Garda for her support over the past year.

10. Results of Election

The following people were elected:

Pascal Dessureault Natasha Garda Jodi Hoar Troy Jackson Lee Mark Schofield Rudy Ticzon Kira Vallen

Motion: To destroy the ballots. Moved by El-Farouk Khaki; Seconded by Derrick Navarro. Carried

11. Old and New Business

None

12. Adjournment

Moved by Lyle Kersey and seconded by Derrick Navarro, Carried